Jeremy Corbyn Elected Labour Leader

Jeremy Corbyn has been elected leader of the Labour Party. His deputy is Tom Watson who was elected moments before.

Labour Leadership Election 2015 Results

Jeremy Corbyn 59.5%
Andy Burnham 19.0%
Yvette Cooper 17.0%
Liz Kendall 4.5%

This was the first and only round. Since Jeremy Corbyn attained a majority of the vote, a second round was unnecessary and he was declared the winner.

Will Labour split again?

In the early 1980s, the right wing of the Labour Party left the party and formed the SDP. In the end almost 30 Labour MPs joined the SDP. Two consequences of this were as follows:

1. Most of these defectors lost their seats at Election 1983.
2. The SDP-Liberal Alliance split the Labour vote and let the Conservatives win many marginals.

People remember history. They remember the Conservative domination during the 1980s and 1990s. This time they will try to avoid a split at all costs.
Quick Links
Latest Posts
Election Results and Tools Updated for 2024
posted 13 Dec 2019, 09:00
2019 European Election Swingometer
posted 19 May 2019, 14:30
Labour win the Newport West by-election
posted 5 Apr 2019, 07:30